Thursday, April 19, 2012

What to Read Next?


I got the latest book in the Game of Thrones series for Christmas and I have just finished reading it! Now that the doorstep sized fantasy-fest is out of the way I have been thinking a little about what I would like to read and, along with a couple of other books that have lain untouched since Christmas, my musings have been a lot in the direction of Edgar Allen Poe, H. P. Lovecraft and Robert Louis Stevenson. The first because he is clearly a genius and it has been too long since I have read any of his stories (and indeed his poetry), the second because I really feel I should know more about this elusive master of the macabre and the third, partly at least because of another hang over from Christmas. Sky TV produced, at Christmas, an adaptation of Treasure Island. I have only just watched it. Eddie Izzard as Long John Silver is an inspired piece of casting and a wonderfully ambiguous piece of acting, Elijah Wood as the charmingly insane Benn Gunn and the simply beautiful (but also very talented) Toby Regbo all conspired to make it a thoroughly enjoyable piece of television. So I thought I might take on a bit of Stevenson that I've never read before, Kidnapped perhaps. Then I heard this piece of news about Stevenson's masterpiece (IMHO) Doctor Jekyll and Mr Hyde and wondered if should take it as a sign.

But signs and portents are a dangerous and murky business because just minutes later I came across Poe and Phillips, a graphic novel (to be either downloaded or owned in print) which teams the real people Edgar Allen Poe and H. P. Lovecraft in an Indiana Jones-style festival of arcane investigations. So, the long and the short of it is that I was feeling quite conflicted about what to read next until, in the post today, what joy, a review copy of Samuel R. Delany's latest book arrives like a brick through my letterbox, Through the Valley of the Nest of Spiders, and so the deadlock is broken and my course is clear.

1 comment:

Jhon Caronte said...

Reviews from Poe & Phillips
Review from Martha Cornog

Another epic team-up of real people doing unreal things-Phillips is the "P" in H.P. Lovecraft. The two wordsmiths collaborate as paranormal investigators against an ancient emperor who wants to-of course-rule the world. And he just happens to have a demonic army. The semirealistic preview art shows our author duo armed and ready.-Martha Cornog, "Graphic Novels Prepub Alert," BookSmack! 7/15/2010 (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

[...]

Review from Grim Blogger

Poe and Phillips is a recent graphic novel by Jaime Collado and Miguel Cedillo from Arcana Studios that throws Edgar Allan Poe and H.P. Lovecraft into the midst of a horror-adventure quest. Don't expect an authentic drama with highly refined weird fiction elements. Instead, you'll see improbable fun and heroic slayers coursing through this tale. Who cares if Poe and Lovecraft didn't murder a thief, let alone a supernatural being? They've never looked tougher with heavy arms.

Space-time constraints are kicked to the curb as well, allowing this unlikely pair to link up and dust monsters. Here's what Acrcana's Poe and Phillips summary has to say:

Edgar Allen Poe and Howard Phillips Lovecraft were born and raised in different eras. But during each of their times they were both investigators of paranormal affairs and once had a case where they worked together. Searching for the power of a mysterious coin, the unlikely duo find themselves against an ancient emperor who wants to use the coins to conquer the world... throughout all times!

Expect alternate history horror fantasies like Poe and Phillips to spawn more variants in the coming years. As works by Lovecraft and other weird fiction masters enjoy a renaissance, their tie to digital media means the authors themselves are due to become mythologized more than they already are. Besides, seeing artists like H.P. Lovecraft and E.A. Poe as hardened killers is a lot more interesting than the sensitive, troubled personas they truly exhibited while alive.

-Grim Blogger

Book review, January 25, 2012

By

scott - See all my reviews

This review is from: Poe & Phillips (Paperback)

Another epic team-up of real people doing unreal things-Phillips is the "P" in H.P. Lovecraft. this is an awesome graphic novel

Poe and Phillips was a read that takes me back to be being a child and reading the Young Indiana Jones books (yes I did read those). They were books that I loved, books about adventures, and mysteries, and the best parts of the story being how we got there rather than what the mystery actually was. Poe and Phillips is pretty successful in setting up an atmosphere that almost reads like a novel at times rather than a traditional comic book. There is something wonderful about the ability to truly merge two literary forms.

The story of Poe and Phillips is not something I wish to spoil, because to spoil much more than to say that Poe and Phillips is about a mysterious coin and the possible magical and mythical implications it may pose. The story and the adventure remind me very much of a super natural Sherlock Holmes, and that is honestly fantastic. Any fans of Sherlock Holmes or mystery books in general should check out Poe and Phillips. While this book may not be perfect is does give us comic book fans something we don�t often see. A story that relies just as much on the narrative to push the story as it does the visual. In my opinion many of the comic books out there now use the visual to push the story, and the narrative, well with Poe and Phillips I believe there is a great balance and it�s worth the read.

 
Who links to my website?